Crash recovery in Softimage

Successfully saved scene before system failure
When Softimage crashes, it tries to save a crash recovery file. When you start up Softimage again, it asks you if you want to recover (“Improper exit detected. Do you want to recover?”)

If the crash recovery file isn’t usable, Softimage will try to load an AutoSave file, if there are any available (see this softimage-blog article on AutoSave).

Crash recovery files (and auto save files) are located in the [hidden] system\USER folder of the active project. For example:



  • Support_Project is the PROJECT name.
  • C:\Users\blairs\Documents\Support_Project is the project location.
  • blairs is the USER name.

Crash recover creates:

  • A system\blairs\CrashSave file
  • A system\blairs\CrashBackup folder with AutoSave files (AutoSave files are scene files without the .scn)

NOTE There’s a Scene Debugging preference for turning Crash Recovery on or off.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s